Excess Experimentation

Hi there!

Here’s the question I was faced with yesterday: What is a girl to do when she has extra ingredients? Stare at them? No. Eat them? No. (Well, possibly… but we’ll stick with no for the sake of the post.) Let them be until she has a use for them again? HA! Maybe if you don’t have baking ADD. No- when a girl is faced with extra ingredients, she must experiment. It is her duty as a baker.

Thus, when this little girl was faced  with extra supplies, experiment she did indeed. A tub of rainbow sprinkles, a box of chocolate cake mix and chocolate chips? Oh yeah, I was ready to work with that.

I decided to embark on a journey I have been ready to start for a while now: CAKE BALLS! Ever since I came across the amazing Bakerella, I have been dying to try to make her little specialties. I love cake, and I love miniature things, so cake balls seemed made for me! They were, for the most part, so easy to make. Check them out!

Now you’re understanding the recycled part… these look just like the cake batter bark from yesterday, only in ball form.

Cake Ball Recipe (from Bakerella):

1 box cake mix (I used chocolate fudge because that’s what I had- DELICIOUS!)

1 16 oz. can frosting (preferably cream cheese)

Chocolate (any flavor) for dipping

Your choice of decorations.

3-4 ingredients! It doesn’t get better than that.

To assemble the cake balls, follow these directions:

1. Bake the cake as instructed on the box. Let cool.

2. Crumble in a large bowl. Mix with can of icing.

3. Roll into small balls and place on wax paper. Refrigerate, or freeze to speed up the process.

4. Melt your chocolate for dipping.

5. Remove the balls from the fridge and dip in chocolate. (This was the only hard part for me- it gets a little messy!)

6. Add sprinkles (optional) and refrigerate until hard.

7. ENJOY!

Here’s the little guys pre-chocolate coating.

I just can’t get over how cute they are!

Don’t they just scream, “Eat me, I’m tiny and delicious!!”?!

A lone cake ball. (About to be devoured by my brother.) So adorable.

I’m so happy that while most normal teenagers were on Facebook or doing some other teenager-ish thing at 11 o’clock on a Tuesday night, I was baking cake balls. Is that weird? Probably. But it’s also delicious.

Now go have an experiment of your own and make some tiny treats!

5 Comments

Filed under Tasty Treats

5 responses to “Excess Experimentation

  1. Daniel Begasse

    laura save me cake balls!!!!!

  2. Looks delicious! I love the rainbow sprinkles look on the chocolate.

  3. Pingback: Red, White and Blue, Delicious Are You. | little girl, BIG TASTE.

Leave a Reply

