Monkeyin’ Around

What is a girl to do at 10:00 at night when she just got home from a late night workout and frozen yogurt run? Oh right, bake. Duh. Isn’t that obvious? Come on, guys, it’s been TWO WEEKS since I’ve baked! I think that’s illegal… It has to be. Regardless, I needed to bake. My oven looked so lonely and deprived. My brother and his friends needed something delicious. It was my duty. So I set forth on an experiment. A beautiful, cinnamon-sugary, syrup-laden experiment. Monkey bread. Oh. My. Deliciousness. I found this recipe on Dashing Dish, and with a little dash of Laura flavor (and help from my lovely assistant and good friend Dan), created a dessert that will make you go bananas! (Ignore my corniness.)

Monkey Bread Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 Cans Pillsbury Crescent Rolls (I used Big & Buttery- YUM.)

1 cup Maple Syrup (I used Aunt Jemima)

2 Tbsp Butter

2-3 tbsp cinnamon

1/4-1/2 cup sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray 12 muffin cups with nonstick spray.

2. Open the cans of dough and just each triangle into 3 equal pieces. Roll each piece into balls, creating 24 balls between the two cans.

3. Combine the sugar and the desired amount of cinnamon. Coat the balls thoroughly in the mixture.

4. Melt the butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds and combine with the syrup.

5. Place 4 balls into each individual muffin tin. Pour the butter-syrup mixture over the balls until they are thoroughly covered.

6. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the balls seem to be sticking to one another and there is a caramelized layer of syrup on top. Remove from oven and let cool for 15 minutes.

7. Enjoy. Devour. Share with friends. Whatever you like!

This is one treat you won’t be able to pass up. It’s summery, delicious and fun! Have a sugary sweet day! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Tasty Treats

One response to “Monkeyin’ Around

  1. Jamie

    This is a great desert to make for work!

Leave a Reply

