A Stylish and Scrumptious Celebration

Alright, I’ve been lame. I have not posted in two days! I know, I’m off the ball. But I promise, I have good reason! Remember that whole busy thing I was explaining to you in my last post? Well, that hasn’t stopped. I have come to the realization that sleep is no longer a part of my daily routine, it is more like a fabulous luxury. Sleep is for the weak. Arg.

Now to my point. Last night, my best friend came home from her 6 week summer dance intensive! (Remember, the one I sent theseΒ delicious treats to? πŸ™‚ ) So, my other best friend and I being the wonderful people we are (and modest, too) we planned her a surprise welcome home party! I know, we rule. It was an absolute blast and she was so excited! It was a night of friends, swimming, laughing, fun, and, of course, food. Planning this party made me realize something: I. Want. To. Be. A. 1950s. Housewife. Minus the no rights and objectifying women part. I want to have dinner parties. I want to make delicious treats for my guests to devour. I want to prance around in an apron. Oh wait, I did that…

I’m obsessed with aprons. I’m especially obsessed with my new apron. I think everyone should own at least 5, maximum 35 aprons. They’re so stinkin’ cute! I just got this one from Anthropologie. It was only $32, and it was worth every penny! I’m obsessed with it. They have tons of adorable aprons that are fairly affordable. Doesn’t this apron just scream cute 1950’s woman baking a cake? I think so.

Hey, it’s me 1950’s-ized! You just can’t be a good host without a chic apron. Period end of story.

via laboomeria

Found these on Pinterest. So cute.

Come on, there was no way I was going to talk about aprons and not talk about Charlotte in this adorable apron in Sex and the City. She is the cutest ever. I love this picture!

But, friends, there was more than aprons to be had last night. Oh there was dessert. Delicious. Easy. Awesome. Dessert.

My best friend and the guest of the hour’s favorite dessert is banana cream pie, so I decided I had to make it for her party! I found this amazing recipe for easy banana cream pie from Our Best Bites, only I gave it a little twist…

I made them mini! They were a total hit and so easy to make. I bought premade mini pie crusts which really made my life a whole lot easier…

And then I just followed Our Best Bites’ simple and delicious recipe!

I put about 4-5 banana slices at the bottom of each pie…

Then, I scooped in some of the delectable pudding mixture.

Mmm…

Finally, I topped it off with some homemade whipped cream! (I did add a little more sugar than the recipe calls for just because it tasted a bit bland to me πŸ™‚ )

These miniature treats were a huge hit. My one friend ate four. Oh teenage boys.

 

Next up, I decided to be a little daring and make something unlike anything I’ve made before! Cinnabun cookies. When I found the recipe on Recipe Girl, I just had to try it! It was definitely a smart move. The cookies were a huge success.

I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, only I made my cookies a little smaller. Look how cute they look all ready to be baked!

They baked beautifully. They really do look like cinnamon buns, only they’re cookies!

The only thing I did change was I quadrupled the icing. I wound suggest doing the same because the icing was, in my opinion, the best part…

As you can see, I was going for a little more than a light drizzle. When it comes to baking, less is never more.

These cookies went so fast! You need to make them now.

 

Finally, my friend was kind enough to bring along an amazingly delicious treat to share! Cheesecake brownies. Yeah, you can take a second to close your jaw. They were insanely good.

She is awesome. They were fresh out of the oven when she brought them over!

I don’t even like cheesecake, but these were just so decadent. Look at the melty chocolate chips…

 

 

She’s going to give me the recipe, so as soon as I get it I will be sure to share it with all of you! These are simply too delicious to be kept a secret.

This was the entire dessert spread! I really should’ve taken a picture of all of the empty trays. All of the desserts were a total hit.

 

A night of my four favorite f’s was the perfect way to welcome Melissa home: friends, fun, food, and fashion. So go out, buy yourself an adorable apron, make some delicious treats, and celebrate something awesome in your life! Have a delicious day πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Tasty Treats, Tatesful Trends

3 responses to “A Stylish and Scrumptious Celebration

  1. gineen demari

    absolutely awesome… i so enjoy reading everything you write and seeing your incredable pics! keep them coming!!! your biggest fan! gineen ❀

  2. Pingback: Summer Days Driftin’ Away… | little girl, BIG TASTE.

Leave a Reply

