Flowers Aren’t Just for Spring…

They’re for birthdays!

Hi there everyone! So this weekend we celebrated two birthdays in my family, my Aunt Michelle and Uncle Art! We had my family over and it was an all-around get-together of family, fun, friends, good food, and of course, good dessert. Earlier in the week my mom said to me, “Laura, the family’s coming Saturday for Aunt Michelle and Uncle Art’s birthday. You’re going to bake a cake, right?” My response: “Uh, mom, duh.” Me, bake a cake? What else do I do?! So, I set out to do something simple and delicious that I knew my family would love: Chocolate fudge cake, filled with my chocolate buttercream fudge frosting and finished with my scrumptious buttercream frosting. Yum. But I wanted to make it more than delicious, I wanted to make it look as special as it tasted! So, I decided to make a flower/rose cake. The result…

Voila! I was pretty happy with how it turned out! Sure, some of my flowers are a little abstract, but flowers aren’t perfect okay!

I did purple for my aunt and blue for my uncle.

The flower technique is super easy to achieve! All you need is an icing gun or bag with a star tip, and you basically create a little circular motion to make a little rose/flower!

I threw in some tiny sugar pearls I had laying around as well. I thought they added a nice little touch and they had a great sweet crunch when you ate the cake!

A flower cake with flowers πŸ™‚

The most important thing in making a cake like this is to have fun! No, mine isn’t perfect, but it’s not supposed to be! It has an organic, whimsical feel that everyone enjoyed.

This cake is so easy to make, delicious and fun! So yes, it may be January, but this cake brought some fun into the winter! I mean, today practically feels like spring anyway, so why not?! Bake something that’s both pretty, and pretty scrumptious πŸ™‚

5 Comments

Filed under Tasty Treats

5 responses to “Flowers Aren’t Just for Spring…

  1. Mr. Semler

    Well this looks absolutely wonderful… Is it weird that this is the only means I have of contacting you? Say hello stranger πŸ™‚

  2. Aunt Michelle

    Laura, just saw this!!! Cake was
    Awesome!!! LLove, aunt Michelle and uncle art.

  3. Jan

    That cake is gorgeous. Random reader here!

Leave a Reply

